A lesson learned

This post is a story. A story about the time I borrowed my roommates’ camera to take to Peru because I thought that I wouldn’t be able to charge mine while there. (I use a Nikon point and shoot and the battery is rechargeable.) Her’s just used double A batteries so I thought that would work better.

For the first four days of the trip, we were in Lima and visited La Plaza de Armas and several museums and cathedrals and of course the cliffs on the coast! All of my pictures were on said camera…Fast forward to the fourth day when we packed up and headed to Nasca. We left at 5:45 a.m. which was MISERABLY early considering the fact that 7 women were staying in a room with 3 bunk beds and a cot…(It’s still scary to retell that story, maybe I’ll write a post eventually…)This was a 7 hour bus ride winding through the terrain and VERY ROCKY. Up, down, slish, slosh, roll around and watch out for boulders on a double decker bus.

By the time we arrived, we were all ready to crash at the hostel. I grabbed my Kavu bag and backpack and left the bus with my group to walk the 2 block to our hostel. When I got into our room, I dumped out my purse to look for my chapstick since I hadn’t found it yet. As I spread out the few items in the tiny bag, I noticed that my roommate’s camera was indeed…missing. Panicking, I dumped out my backpack and searched every nook and cranny and pocket looking for it. When I couldn’t find it, I ran down the stairs to the lobby and thank goodness my professor was there and we walked back to the bus station.

By the time we got there, maybe 30-35 minutes after we arrived at the hostel, the bus had already DEPARTED for the return to Lima!!! What. The. Heck. The cleaning crew had not turned up any camera and we were informed by the clerk that he would call ahead to the branch in Lima and ask them to check the bus for a camera upon its arrival. You can imagine what happened when we went by the office the next day…of course the Lima office called back saying there was no camera…

So not only had I lost my pictures from the first 4 days of the trip, it was not even my own camera! This was a hard lesson learned on my part. In short, don’t use purse with only a velcro clasp to close it, even if it is a sturdy Kavu bag…Secondly, always always check your bag before getting off the bus! I have a feeling that the camera probably just slid out of the purse and went skidding down the back of the bus under the chairs.

Leave a Reply

