Cranberry Granola

I love granola and it’s pretty delicious so I thought I would try to make my own. There’s a plethora of oats in my kitchen so I knew I HAD to do something to get rid of it turn it into food. After some online research, I discovered there’s approximately a bazillion different recipes for granola. I wanted to make it with what I knew had to use, i.e. cranberries, walnuts, etc. So… here’s how I made it.

I had a bag of fresh cranberries that I dried the night before using the recipe I found here. They didn’t turn out as dehydrated as I expected, not so much like Craisins but more like squishy raisins. Either way, it worked. I LOVE cranberries, sweet, tart and tangy, they’re a great berry.

Ingredients:

4 1/2 cups uncooked rolled oats
2 C. chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
2 C. dried fruit (I used cranberries)
1/2 C. Brown sugar
1 T. Cinnamon
1 T. vanilla
1/2 t. salt
1 C. Maple syrup
1/2 C. Molasses (You could use 1 1/2 C. maple syrup but I like molasses so I divided the two.)

 

 

 

Mix all the ingredients together and spread onto a greased, very well greased, cookie sheet and bake for 45-50 minutes at 325 degrees stirring halfway through. Warning: This recipe yields a TON of granola and it was piled high onto two cookie sheets. After allowing it to cool, store in an airtight container, it can even be frozen!

Leave a Reply

