Beer Bread Pizza

Beer and pizza go great together but what if you used beer to make the pizza? Say what?! Crazy idea but it’s actually quite delicious. I found a recipe for this kind of pizza on HHH  and had to try it out. This had to do in part with the absurd amount of beer in my fridge, but don’t call me an alchi. I hosted a get together to watch the 2012 National Championship game with some friends and someone brought over 2 six packs of Dos Equis and  one six pack of Bud Light. Out of all it, we drank a combined 3 bottles! HA. This means that beer bread needed to be made and that we’re fully stocked for the Superbowl. 🙂

Anyways, down to the recipe. It’s super simple!

3 cups of flour
1 can of beer (any kind will do)
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt


That’s it! Mix all the dry ingredients together and then add in the beer. Mix it all together until it forms a nice dough-y ball and then plop it onto a floured surface. Knead it until it’s consistently sticking together and then spread it onto a greased cookie sheet. (I just lined mine with foil.)

Bake it at 375 degrees for 10 minutes and then pull it from the oven and top it with whatever you like. (I used pizza sauce, chopped white onions, and cheese.) Put it back in the oven and bake for another 15 minutes. So easy!

I gorged on this stuff and dipped the crust in a mixture of Italian spices and EVOO. Yum.

 

 

I neglected taking pictures of the whole process because A) I was super hungry and it couldn’t bake fast enough and B) I had friends over and we were watching Moneyball, which is a great movie by the way. This was very filling and definitely the easiest homemade pizza I’ve ever made!! I’ll definitely use this again in the future, and plan on having a bigger variety of toppings.

What are your favorite pizza toppings? Have you ever made your own pizza crust, any good recipes to share?

2 thoughts on “Beer Bread Pizza

  1. Brett Norris says:

    To me, a pizza isn’t a pizza without mushrooms. I like to limit it to three toppings, so usually mushrooms, onions, and some sort of meat (ham or bacon). Not very vegan-friendly, but delicious for the omnivorous sort.

    And on the topic of beer bread, I think darker, heavier beers work well. Guinness, Newcastle, or Dos Equis Amber are great for this. They give the bread a much stronger flavor than a lighter beer like Bud Light (or even Budweiser).

Leave a Reply

